So what are my chances at sub 17 5k by February? (Read 1478 times)

khardrunner

k

PDoe

I run about 40 mpw and just knocked on sub 17:00. If you're 28 y.o, you're 24 years younger than me. Why shouldn't you be able to do it?

'Nuff said.

I know there's a sub 17 thread that's miles long, and I've contributed there before. I've since picked up a kid (she's now 1 yr old) and another is on the way (due in March), so my training has changed. Apparently it was too easy last time to break 17 minutes, so I'm doing it the hard way. I'm a teacher, coach, assistant athletic director and an equipment manager so I'm busy. I've run competitively in the past at sub 16 off of 80-90 mile weeks and good workouts. I know how to train right, BUT I'm not going to do it. I'm thinking of doing a winter series with different race distances (a total of 8 races) starting in November.

Background: I've been running somewhat regularly over the last several months putting in between 3-6 miles a day usually around 7 min pace. I've done as high as 60 miles in a week, but most weeks are near 25-30. I raced a 5k about 3 months ago and ran 18:13 in what I would consider a mediocre race. The first 1.5 miles were down hill and it was an out and back... a tough way to finish when I really hadn't trained much. I really haven't done many workouts at all, maybe 3-5 in the past 6 months.

The Plan: I plan to train some, but barely. In that I mean I may get up as high as 40-50 mpw. I won't do more than one faster day a week. I won't take many days off, but I will not run many longer runs either. Some runs will be with the kids I coach or with my wife, so the pace will be slow. Some days I will be on my own and feel good, so I will be a bit fast. I'm not planning to structure this much at all. I'll lift some, but not consistently. Basically, I will work my way up racing in some races and training as I make time for it. I'll be sure to get some work in, but not what I should do.