Running in cold weather (Read 84 times)

sophiaK

Hi,

It's around 20˚F now in where I live. Will it be safe for my lung to run about a half hour in this weather? Any advice will be appreciated. Thanks.

My avatar photo is me after 11 miles at -10 deg F.  I had better icicles at -20 deg F, but the camera was not at hand.  My largest problem with running in cold temperatures (below -10 deg F) is the ice balls build up on my eyelashes and pull my eyelids shut.  Then I have to pull off a glove and melt the ice balls with a finger before the finger gets too cold to melt the ice balls.

Dress for the weather and you will be fine.

sophiaK

Wow you are a champ! Thank you so much!

Cyberic

There is absolutely no problem for the lungs. No advice necessary. Maybe if you have a lung condition like asthma it's different. I'm no doctor, but I run outside all year. This is from personal experience only.

You need to dress properly so you're not cold and you don't overheat, but it is not a lung concern.

sophiaK

Thank you all, now I can run in cold temp without any concern!

LedLincoln

not bad for mile 25

When I first started running, I experienced some coughing in very cold air, but I seem to have adapted quickly.  No problem now, but if it's in the single digits or below, I'm breathing through my balaclava.

Prince of Fatness

You need to dress properly so you're not cold and you don't overheat, but it is not a lung concern.

Yeah, my biggest concern when I'm running in cold weather is overheating, believe it or not.  If you are nice and toasty when you start running you'll almost surely overheat.  You want to be a little uncomfortably cold when you start, then you'll warm up and be fine.

Disclaimer:  The coldest that it ever gets for me is single digits.

Not at it at all. 

NorthNorthwest