BMI <25 for first time since 1979! (Read 192 times)

Petco Run/Walk/Wag 5k

As I sit here eating my first bowl of steel cut oats in near six months I can't help but think its the first time since fall of 1979 that I am having breakfast at a healthy BMI. I weighed 154.7 this morning so am officially no longer overweight, even tho the Endocronologist told me that I should ignore the BMI because of all the muscle my legs have its still nice to meet the official number.

This is the weight I graduated HS at, Enlisted at, went to Vietnam at - twice, got married at and stayed in range until the fall of 1979 when I cleaned the plate for a few months in Nashua, NH until we could get the family moved up & in. The yo-yo journey began, but never returning into the mid 150's. Original Weight Watchers goal was 166, which I reached a few times while riding the yo-yo. One bounce got me to 220 when I stopped looking... refused to go into 48 pants... lost, but stuck in the low 180's/upper 170's. Briefly got down to 169 after the 2008 heart attack but bounced again, especially after moving to Austin summer of 2010.

Last week I transitioned to the weight management part of the Austin Diagnostic Clinic's Health Risk Management program, Phase 2, which I intend to stay with the rest of my life- attended first class yesterday. Really can't afford to bounce again. Want to maintain to counteract the effects of a number of things; 1 - being an aging white man - many disease possibilities all of which are multiplied by 2) compounding effects of exposure to Agent Orange during my 15 1/2 months in Vietnam - Ischemic Heart Disease (which I already have), Prostate Cancer, Type 2 Diabetes, Parkinson, and other "old man" diseases as well - its a long list of diseases on a watch list, with more slowly being added, and 3) PTSD - Focusing on Weight Management and Training for Road Races as projects helps keep me distracted enough not to slip down the slop into full blown PTSD again.