Bringing down cholesterol (Read 1258 times)

t_runner

I received a bit of surprising news from my doc after a cholesterol test (full panel, fasting 14 hours, sorry if I am getting names wrong)... My total is 267 (I don't have the breakdown, just what she left on a voicemail message), and she is very concerned. I am 30 yrs old, and she said she normally doesn't like to prescribe statins for women of child-bearing age, but that number needs to come down. While I wasn't planning on child-bearing, I absolutely don't want to go on a medicine for the rest of my life, particularly with some of the side effects I read about with statins. Anybody else have luck bringing theirs down without medicine? I have been running fairly consistently 30-35 miles a week for a few years, plus other sports (soccer, volleyball, an occasional swim or bike ride), so I rarely have a day where I don't spend at least 45 minutes very active. I am trying to bump up my miles just to get faster, but besides that, don't think I can do THAT much more to increase exercise. Which brings it all down to diet. I'm a healthy weight (125 at 5'3") but I suppose I probably have more rich desserts than more sedentary people who are at a healthy weight. I also don't shy away from dairy (cheese, yogurt, 2% milk), and I love butter, and have probably 3-4 egg yolks in a week. I guess I see a lot of room for improvement here, but I was just wondering if anybody else had been through this and what kind of results they were able to see...