Pre Diabetic runner (Read 522 times)

acahart

Hello! 

I need help! I have been running for a couple of years, but I have been diagnosed as pre diabetic since January, I see that things have changed since I have been diagnosed. I used to tolerated energy gels and blocks very well, but now when I eat them, I have very bad cramps, making me go to the bathroom immediately. I am taking a medication called Metmorfin. I ran a halfmarathon yesterday, and I had a very hard time finishing, I did not have gels because of the problem I have mentioned previously, so I decided to take crackers. Well that did not work. My energy levels were super low. My question is: what are other options for energy gels or blocks that a pre diabetic can eat? crackers seemed to be very light, I was not able to recover or gain energy from them, I felt super weak. Also, I did not take my medication. What should I do? I love running and after yesterday, I am feeling pretty down, not sure If I should keep doing it....

Adriana

A Saucy Wench

Talk to you doctor about the issues you are having.  My guess is it is more to do with interactions with your medication than being "pre diabetic" specifically.    I've been prediabetic for years and it doesnt make gu's/gels off limits, although I dont tolerate them when NOT working out.

Exercise is one of the best things for diabetic so work with your doctor to find a solution.  It could be your metformin dosage needs to be adjusted.  - Are you monitoring your blood sugar?  Have you talked to you doctor about the fact that you want to do endurance training and events?  Managing of blood sugar can be done, it just may take more pushing from your side to have the doctor/endocrinologist etc help you find the solution. 

I have become Death, the destroyer of electronic gadgets

"When I got too tired to run anymore I just pretended I wasnt tired and kept running anyway" - dd, age 7