2018 Chicago Marathon (Read 270 times)

Arvind Balaraman

Hi

This is my first time running the Chicago marathon. I am looking for suggestions on hotels to stay during the race weekend. Any help is appreciated.

I will be flying in from Raleigh, NC and am not planing to rent a car. Planing to use the public transport to go from and to the race venue.

Rgds

Arvind

darkwave

Mother of Cats

I used the Club Quarters in the Loop - I thought it was perfectly located.

Everyone's gotta running blog; I'm the only one with a POOL-RUNNING blog.

And...if you want a running Instagram where all the pictures are of cats, I've got you covered.

HermosaBoy

Congress Plaza is very convenient.

And you can quote me as saying I was mis-quoted. Groucho Marx

Rob

RunnerJones

Will Run for Donuts!

I used AirBnB and found an inexpensive place in a quiet neighborhood just south of Chicago's Chinatown, near the White Sox stadium.  It was several miles from the start, but close to the subway, so that really wasn't an issue.  We just bought 3-day passes for Chicago mass transit and rode buses or subway to get around.  I'd do that option again.

Chicago's a great race!  Good luck and enjoy the experience!

Arvind Balaraman

Thank you Dw, HemmosaBoy and RunnerJones

Eisenmench

<3's heckin long zoomies

Chicago-area resident here!

If you're okay with Air BnB, I would suggest that. I've used it for all my out-of-town races and love it (just read the reviews to check for pets/children that might disturb your sleep).

Otherwise, I suggest looking at hotels in your budget, then using Google Maps to see if public transportation will take you to race start in a timely manner. There are usually cheap hotels near colleges. For example, staying at the Motel 6 near Loyola would probably take less time to get to race start than staying at a hotel near UIC.

Started running - 2014

1st marathon - 2017

Still trying to figure out a good training plan that works for me.

Joann Y