Athenas and Clydesdales (Read 1110 times)

As a heavier runner 240ish 5'10". I find it hard to be accepted into the running world. All the other runners just assume I can't keep up when our club meets and just take off without me. Without being rude how can I get some encouragement and support to keep running. I am an officer of the club and do my share of promoting the club. I do however feel a little out of the loop because of the "good ole boys club" of fast runners. I don't want them to slow their pace or even run with me, but just to acknowledge that I am there and trying to get to the point where I could run with them. Anyone else had similar experiences? I am trying to recruit some heavier runners to run with me, but they are all scared their knees are going to collapse. Thanks for letting me vent. jawtech Confused
      Sounds like it's time to find a new club that is more accepting of all types of runners.
      Finished my first marathon 1-13-2008 in 6:03:37 at P.F. Chang's in Phoenix. PR in San Antonio RnR 5:45:58!!!!!! on 11-16-08 The only thing that has ever made any difference in my running is running. Goal: Break 2:30 in the HM this year Jay Benson Tri (place in Athena category) 5-10-09
      Wingz

Professional Noob

It's hard being left behind - it happens to me frequenlty. I applaud your decision to keep running in spite of this. While I don't have advice for your group if you've already tried talking to the members about this, know there is some online virtual support available here at RunningAHEAD. Two come to my mind, probably because I'm a member myself! There's the Back of the Pack-ers, and RA Running for Weight Loss groups. Welcome!

Roads were made for journeys...

mb1973