Hi everyone...newbie here (Read 1058 times)

Now that was a bath...

Just wanted to post an introduction as I have been lurking on your forum, trying to get some tips. I recently decided to run the Auckland Marathon next October and I am trying to gather as much information and knowledge as possible between now & then. I am running in my first race (a quarter marathon) in January, the 'Wharf2Wharf' - Waiheke Island Fun Run, here in New Zealand. I am only going to do the 12k race is it is a particularly difficult and hilly course and I am a complete novice to racing. I am 35, a mother of four and a passionate runner. I run every day at the moment (get up to run at 5am befoe the kids get up) and have a ten week schedule to the first race which starts this week. I am looking at doing a second quarter marathon in March, followed by a half marathon in July - which should incorporate into my Marathon training. I have a few questions for you all! *What shoes are you running in? *Women - have you had any issues training alone? *What sort of distances will I be running when I will need to take fluids with me on the run? (currently I only run 5-8km a day and I manage by drinking before and after the run) *Any tips? I look forward to learning from you all! Claire xxx
  • jlynnbob "HTFU, Kookie's distal tibia"
  • Where's my closet? I need to get back in it.
    Wingz

Professional Noob