What's on your RoadID? (Read 1146 times)

daisymae25

Squidward Bike Rider

My name/Birth year

City, State, USA

Home phone (no longer used, guess I should update that)

DH's name/Cell phone number

No known allergies/Blood type

"Suck it up"

Coastal

Good tip on putting the heart rate on the ID.  I have a low resting heart rate and one local doctor I saw for a sinus infection was all concerned about it, even when I explained I was running and it is normal for me.  Hope he isn't in the ER if I wind up there.  Wish that the HR info was on my ID.

I have the wrist roadID with the online info.  I doubt a first responder would ever check online, but maybe the hospital would do so.  I hope so anyway.

cookiemonster

Connoisseur of Cookies

Actually, I'm a paramedic (different from an EMT).  But that's neither here nor there.  In another week I'll be a graduate PA.  Moving up in the world, so to speak.

From a first responder standpoint here are the things that I, on the ambulance, will care about:

Your name

An idea of how old you are (generally the year of birth is enough)

Allergies (e.g. medications, bee stings)

Medical history -- if brief enough to include

That's it.  As a first responder I don't care, nor will I have time, to call an emergency contact.

Now, the hospital staff in the ED to which you're transported will care about all of the above PLUS:

Emergency contact name and phone number -- this had better be someone you have appointed or trust to make medical decisions for you.  Please keep in mind there may be local legal stipulations regarding who this person may be (e.g. spouse, parent).  It's also a good idea to make the emergency contact person aware that they're the emergency contact person.  A power of attorney may be necessary before the hospital will allow this person to make decisions on your behalf.