Who all is here and what are you doing? (Read 16874 times)

BeeRunB

Wow!  After reading the other posts makes me feel totally inspired...well a little anyways.  I am a 33 y/o female.  I live in Upstate New York.  I am new to running. The only reason I really started to run was becuase I ran my big fat mouth to my boss' wife telling her I'd love to run a half marathon.  Actually 2 years ago today my husband and I ran our first 5K.  Since then we've been hooked on running, but never really took it seriously...we'd run a few miles as fast as we could each time and call it good.  I mean if you can run 6, you can run 9.3 right?  WTH?  SO...we started getting serious when last year I hooked up with a guy from a nearby running club who offered to train beginners.  This being WAY out of my zone of security, I went to my first track workout.  These workouts fostered a great relationship with the guy who was training us. 

So last year, a friend of mine passed away after battling leukemia on and off for 4 years.  Until then, I swore I'd never run a marathon..I mean...that's F~A~R!  His wife gave me permission to run in his honor I decided to raise money for Team in Training and begin training for my first (and probably only) marathon.  I just couldn't take "the easy way out" with running the half since I had already accomplished that goal.  My husband and I are training for the Buffalo Marathon on Memorial Day weekend.  Feeling Strong!  and that each step is for a purpose that is so much bigger than me.  thanks for reading this long winded post!    :-)

Great post. Inspiring. 26.2 miles is far, but I can tell you that when your done, you will feel great (though your body won't Cool). Great cause. One step at a time---and make sure to write a report and post it.

--Jimmy

haroldjiii

run, rest & read