Who all is here and what are you doing? (Read 16874 times)

runninggirl30

Hi!

I'm Lindsey from the Buffalo, N.Y. area.  I have been running on and off for the past 15 yrs.  I ran as a teenager for a while just for fitness/fun and then I just got to busy to continue.  Then after I got married in my twenties I started up again and had my first kid and I stopped.  Then finally in July of 2011 I got it in my head that I wanted to do a 5k.  I had never done one before and I was excited that I set a goal for myself and was extremely motivated to start running again.  I did the 5k in August at our local county fair in August the next month and I was hooked.  I did a 5k every month and set my sights on my first half marathon in the spring of the following year.  I was doing well and was up to running 38mpw with a long run of 12m at the end of March when I tore a ligament in my hip (5wks before my half in May).  I was so frustrated!!!  It took 3 months to recover and needless to say I didn't get to do my half Sad  After that I just began running again and I got pregnant with my 5th child (a boy, finally!!).  I kept up my running until about halfway through my pregnancy and it got very uncomfortable (I looked like I had a basketball right in the front and he was getting heavy) so I stopped and resorted to walking.

Now my youngest is 18mon and I've started running here and there but nothing consistent.  Just in the past week or so I have decided to get serious again and signed up for another 5k.  My goals are to do longer races and next year I plan on doing my original half marathon and eventually do a full one!  Not sure why I decided to tell my life story nut there it is Smile

Good luck to everyone!!

endlessrun

Yup.

12 mile swim - 560 miles biking - 131 miles running

...in 5 1/2 days.

I'm trying to imagine what doing just one of these is like.