Help with Training Plan Needed: Half-Marathon Sub-1:40 (Read 56 times)

ChrisPanza

I'm 53 years old (male), I've been running for 18 months total. Never ran before that.

I just ran my second half-marathon (ran first in Nov 19, finishing 2:01) after three months of training, ending at 1:48:33. Now, to be honest I think my time should have been faster. I was badly corralled far back in Little Rock (Corral D! Yikes!), and I lost 2 minutes in the first mile to weaving through slower runners. In addition, at the end I failed to execute my plan to run 7:30 for the last 5K, due to a fear that I wouldn't be able to maintain it. Instead, I did 7:30 for the last 1.5 miles, and easily completed this. So, all in all, I'd say that training-wise, I'm probably closer to a 1:45 half-marathon time at the moment.

My goals going forward are:

1. Run Boston's May 24th "Run to Remember" Half-Marathon in 1:40.00 (10,000 people, a nice race!). I have 12 weeks of training to do this, including taper and race week. I've included my training plan below. Obviously going to Boston also requires there to not be widespread coronavirus, but I can't control that. Smile

2. Run Springfield Missouri's (where I live) Bass Pro November Cohick Half in 1:31.59. This may well be an overly aggressive goal, particularly at my age (53). But that's the qualify time for the 2021 New York Marathon (my age group qualifier requires a sub 1:32), which I'd like to enter (would love my first marathon to be in the city I grew up in). I'd have 5 solid months to bring the 1:40 time down to 1:29.59. Not easy, but should be sufficient time. Which then brings me to goal 3...

3. Train Nov 2020 - Nov 2021 for the NYC Marathon. No time goal at this point. Let's qualify first. Smile

Those are big goals, but I run partly for existential reasons - meaning, who knows how much time I have left to realistically attain these kinds of goals. So, time's a-wastin. I may or may not succeed, but I plan to have fun trying. Smile