Shoe question (Read 799 times)

Hi! I just joined here.  I've been running for about 6 years now.  I'm currently training for my first marathon...

Several years ago I went to a running store and had them do an evaluation to tell me what kind of shoes I should wear.  I'd been having some problems with knee/hip pain and since I'd never really thought about my shoes (just bought what was comfortable) I thought that would be a good thing to do.  So, to make a long story longer, they told me that I needed a stability shoe.  I picked out a Brooks pair that were comfortable and went on my merry way.  About a month later I noticed that I was having increasing problems with shin pain.  I took some time off but when I started up again, the shin pain came back.  I tried to just run through it and after another few months, the pain subsided some.

Fast forward a year or so...I again had someone evaluate my feet and they told me that I needed stability shoes so again, I bought a pair.  Again, the shin problems started up again.  This time, I stopped wearing the stability shoes and bought a pair of what I assume are neutral shoes.  The pain is gone and has been ever since (I've never gone back to the stability shoes).

So, here's the question (finally)...how could two different running stores recommend shoes that obviously were wrong for me?  I need another pair of shoes soon and I'm very skeptical to go to a running store to get fitted.  I'm certain they will tell me that I need a stability shoe that will just make my shins hurt.

Thanks if you got this far!  And thanks for any help!!

Welcome.

Do you have a high arch?

Do you wear out more of outside of shoe?

A Nuetral shoe usually works best for those (me included) that have a avg and/or high arch.  The Stability is better for those that over pronate (roll foot outward on strike).