Newbies first race --- He blew it... (Read 198 times)

pedaling fool

A little background: I"m 48 y/o male; my background is as a cyclist, weightlifter and hiker, but never much of a runner, but I knew I wanted to become one. I started running in 2007, but not really seriously, but I was doing about 7-10 mile runs a couple times a week here and there, then I suffered various injuries, but nothing serious. Then I suffered from a weird illness in the beginning of 2012 and stopped running all together for the year, then picked it back up in Nov. 2012, but for some reason I really got into it and now it's become somewhat of an obsession.

I decided to do my first race -- Jacksonville's 15K Gate River Run. I decided I wasn't going to set a big goal, just run it and get a feel for the running scene. Then I started reading books on running -- big mistake. I started getting obsessed with Junk Miles. Having a cycling background I already was familiar with the idea of not overtraining and the importance of recovery rides, or in this case recovery runs. But I never really thought much of Junk Miles, I guess because I ride a bike everywhere, so I never really came at it from a training mindset, but of course if you are training for a cycling race then you can have the same effect with Junk Miles.

About 2-weeks befor the race (race held on 9 March) I experienced somewhat of a breakthrough on an 8.3-mile run. Now, in the back of my head I was saying, "OK, just bottle this up and don't push it; I'm ready for the race!" However, I felt so good I wanted to continue that feeling and keep improving, so I up'ed my running, doing some hills and speedwork, making sure I wasn't doing any Junk Miles.