Coaching for high school track and cross country (Read 85 times)

Village people

I have a kid who is looking for some help with more directed workouts this summer. He has a few goals for next year. He’ll run about 300miles over the summer but he wants to add stuff like lifting or something to help with speed. I have found a few plans and programs online but I was wondering if anyone has any other ideas. 

TIA

Does your kid have a coach that is knowledgeable and can give ideas? (I'm not sure if coaches are allowed to get involved with off-season workouts but I assume they could give general advice)

I would think summer is 90% about building base and getting comfortable with an increase in workload without getting injury. I assume most speed work is during the season. But I am no expert.

Village people

Thanks, Doug. He does talk to his coach but I thought I’d ask here for other ideas.

Luciplay

Does your kid have a coach that is knowledgeable and can give ideas? (I'm not sure if coaches are allowed to get involved with off-season workouts but I assume they could give general advice)

I would think summer is 90% about building base and getting comfortable with an increase in workload without getting injury. I assume most speed work is during the season. But I am no expert.

I agree with this, summer is usually when I increase my workload as there isn't much to doi.

wcrunner2

Are we there, yet?

I have a kid who is looking for some help with more directed workouts this summer. He has a few goals for next year. He’ll run about 300miles over the summer but he wants to add stuff like lifting or something to help with speed. I have found a few plans and programs online but I was wondering if anyone has any other ideas. 

TIA