How to train for marathon and cycling race that are 6 days apart? (Read 1229 times)

Hi All,

I'm currently training for the Paris Marathon 2010, which will be in April. This will be my third marathon; I ran the Rio de Janeiro marathons of 2008 and 2009.

My training plan required running 5 to 6 days. However, I joined my work colleagues in the challenge of riding the Amstel Golden Race (Netherlands). We signed up to the 100 km race. And it's only 6 days after the marathon.

I have little experience with cycling and never raced. How do you recommend that I split my trainings between running and cycling if I don't have more than 1 to 1.5 hours a day during the week and up to 4 hours on Sundays to train?

Thanks,

Bruno

james33693

Or, you could just do the marathonand not tax your body by riding a bike 100km less than a week after.....

Maniac

I am not a multi-sport athlete (or really an athlete), so take this with a grain of salt....

I would almost approach it like you're training for a duathalon (sp?)....Look at some plans that treat the events like they occur on the same day.  You don't have to worry about working on the transitions from one event to the other, but I would think the training could be similar.

Marathon Maniac #6740

Goals for 2015:

Run 3 marathons (modified:  Run 2 marathons--Lost Dutchman 02/2015 and Whiskey Row 05/2015)

Run a 50-miler (Ran a 53.8 mile race 11/14/2015)

Run 1,500 miles (uhhh...how about 1,400?)

Stay healthy

zoom-zoom

rectumdamnnearkilledem

Along the lines of what AZ suggests, maybe look at an Iron Man plan, but omit the swim workouts.

Getting the wind knocked out of you is the only way to

remind your lungs how much they like the taste of air.    

~ Sarah Kay

A Saucy Wench

which means more to you?  how much time do you have?

You cant peak for both events - which one is the one you are doing for fun and which one is the one you are doing to race? (realizing that by trying both you will optimize neither)