Stress fracture (Read 1061 times)

Jill

Hi everyone, I'm new to running (2 months) and have just discovered this site about a week ago. I'm training for a 5km race in September, but began getting pains in my shins a few weeks ago. I've invested in some new trainers and have not ran on it for a few weeks now. The pain persisted, and so I visited my doctor, who has diagnosed a stress fracture. However, for those of you who know anything about the health care system in the UK, that was about all she told me as my time was nearly up and she was obviously in a hurry to get the next patient in. She prescribed me a pain killer / anti inflamm drug and told me I couldn't run. No idea how long I can't run for, or if there are any other exercises I could do (cross trainer at the gym or rowing machine etc)or if I shouldn't even be walking. I'm in the process of finding out via the NHS email service, but was wondering if anyone here had any advice in the meantime? It does hurt constantly, but particularly when I walk. Has anyone had anything similar and do you know any good ways to aid recovery (apart from no running)? I really want to get back training! Cry Jill

You'll ruin your knees!