Running Faster (Read 385 times)

This is great in theory if you have the discipline to stick to it.  It seems like most people start pushing the pace too soon, even if they know better.  If the temptation to do that gets too strong, try to limit yourself to one "fast" run per week.  Good luck and have fun!

One way to satisfy the desire to push the pace, w/out jumping into the mentality of doing lots of speed work, is to incorporate 15 to 30s pickups into a few runs each week (run easy for 1 to 2 minutes after each one). It's essentially doing strides as part of your run, rather than afterwards.

Feeling the growl again

Thanks everyone! I have been running for a few months. I can go about 4 miles before I putter out, but I am running at a 13:30 min/mile pace. After reading through your suggestions, I think I will build my running capacity and have a good foundation before building speed.

Keep plugging away at it.  As you lose weight and gain fitness you will be able to run further….then, naturally, you will find yourself running faster at the same effort.

Taking off the weight while keeping the pace easy will also reduce the chances of injury.

"If you want to be a bad a$s, then do what a bad a$s does.  There's your pep talk for today.  Go Run." -- Slo_Hand

I am spaniel - Crusher of Treadmills

SMART Approach

One way to satisfy the desire to push the pace, w/out jumping into the mentality of doing lots of speed work, is to incorporate 15 to 30s pickups into a few runs each week (run easy for 1 to 2 minutes after each one). It's essentially doing strides as part of your run, rather than afterwards.