Compression sleeves/socks - when to use? (Read 146 times)

I am Theia

Hello!  This is my first post here, although I've been using the training log for many years.

Does anyone use compression socks or sleeves for marathon training?  If so, do you use them during your long run or afterward (or both, I guess)?  I'm wondering if there's an advantage to using them one way versus the other.   I bought and wore the socks a few weeks ago after my 18-miler, and my calves definitely did not feel as beat up as I expected them to.  I may buy a pair of the sleeves to wear during my 20 this weekend, so I'd love thoughts and advice.  Many thanks.

Blue Rocket

All systems Go!

I believe compression is a personal choice. I think the clinical research is mixed. I've use them for both running and recovery. During running I've use the compression sleeve over my calf, but I didn't really notice much difference. I've also used the compression shorts -- these I like during my interval days when I sweat a lot or on rainy days. Normal running shorts will bunch into a ball between my legs. The compression shorts stay nice and smooth and let me get on with my workout without having to tug at my shorts all the time.