How do I train for cross country? (highschooler) (Read 102 times)

tinydancer16

Hi! I’m trying to join my school’s cross country team, and I’m fairly new at running. I have about 4/5 months to train during the summer, and I want to work on improving my endurance and times (my current mile time is around 9 minutes, I know, it’s bad) My school team doesn’t do cuts, and they’re very inclusive to all levels of runners, so I don’t have to be amazing when the season starts, but I still want to be very in shape and prepared! I want to shave my time down significantly and I want to be able to handle long distance! (ex. 3 miles) I’m just not sure how to train/where to start/how often I should train/what kind of running I should be doing? Any advice?

Teresadfp

One day at a time

Can you ask the coach to suggest a schedule?  Our high school's coach gives the incoming freshmen a recommended running program.  Sometimes there are also "captain's practices" where team members go on runs together during the summer.

Good luck, by the way!  My three kids all ran XC and loved it.  They ranged from very slow to very fast!  The slowest kid got cheered on as much as the kid who won races. Smile  We found that parents cheered for everyone, no matter what team they were on.

wcrunner2

Are we there, yet?

Summer cross country training is primarily running as many miles as you can handle within reason. First you might as well get used to running 5-6 days a week because that's what you'll be doing in HS. Second, start out short and easy. The most common cause of injuries is trying to run too far and too fast before you're ready. For specific suggestions, it would help to know what you are doing now for training and how long you;ve been doing that, i.e. a little history so we know your background and current level of fitness. A simple mile time doesn't tell us enough.

2024 Races:

03/09 - Livingston Oval Ultra 6-Hour, 22.88 miles

05/11 - D3 50K