Race Medals --- Why? (Read 692 times)

pedaling fool

I ran my first race back in March -- Jacksonville's 15K Gate River Run.

Before this I've always heard of giving people medals just for participating, but never gave it much thought, but at the end of the race I was directed where to go to get my medal and a towel. I didn't get in the line, rather I walked a route parallel and watched all the people that were in line for their towel and medal. Then it hit me, that's a lot of towels and medals and it's not just this one event, it happens at nearly all of them. So I was wondering how much money is spent on these things?

Personally,  I don't want a medal just for participating, I just don't see the point, but beyond all that: What about the money? A lot of runs are for charity, how much charity money is spent on medals and other things, such as towels?

It just seems like such a waste to me, but I'm new to all this so what am I missing?

Hoodoo Guru

Medals are a great memento of something memorable.  But not all races are memorable to all people.  Someone who lost 50 pounds while training for his first 5K may treasure his medal more than someone who runs a 5K every weekend.  Sometimes it's the swag (medal, t-shirt etc.) that helps races attract runners which leads to more donations to charity.

For a lot of folks, the medals are symbolic of the sweat and effort that went into preparing for a race.

I like my medals and have them hanging in my workout room.  If my wife threw them all out tomorrow, it would not be that big a deal.  But until she does, I enjoying looking at them while I work out.  And they make me smile every once in a while.

The tangents are moot.

stadjak

Interval Junkie --Nobby

Costs are just passed on to the racers.  Not providing medals would diminish the cost, not increase the charity benefit (in most cases).  The medal and towel are incentives for people to participate.