injured again... (Read 563 times)

sdewan

2010 Goofy Trainee

I have a long history of running injuries. Although I've been running for almost 20 years, I rarely ran more than 10 miles per week until 2.5 years ago, when I started training for my first marathon. I made it through training and the marathon with only minor ITBS issues. Since then it's been all down hill. I've had issues with Patellar Tendonitis, Chondromalacia, Achilles Tendonitis, Peroneal Tendonitis, ITBS, Tibialis Anterior Tendonitis, Plantar Fasciitis, and shin splints. I'm a mess. But then I suffered a tibial stress fracture this past March, and I started seeing a podiatrist who is a former 100 mpw marathoner. He has dismissed my duck-footedness and overpronating or any other biomechanical defects as causes of my injuries and believes they are strictly overuse injuries. He was confident that he could get me back into marathon training and avoid future injuries. So per his training schedule I started running 1 mile at a time in May and gradually worked up to a 20-mile week by late August. Under his advice I've made the following changes: 1) I only run 3 or 4 times per week to allow recovery between runs; 2) my orthotics have been tweaked to give more heel lift; 3) I run 1-2 minutes per mile slower than I feel like I could; 4) I avoid hills; 5) I run on softer surfaces as much as possible; 6) I stretch 10-15 minutes at least twice daily; 7) I perform strengthening exercises for my quads and lower legs; and 8) I take no anti-inflammatories so I'm not masking any pain while running. Look at my running log, I'm not running a lot of miles, and my pace is rather slow. And yet here I am injured again. As recently as three weeks ago, things were going rather well. My worst problem was that on longer runs my knees would start to hurt a little, but not enough to stop running. Then I had a particularly bad 12-miler, where my left knee hurt considerably in the last mile, and my right peroneal tendon showed so