Brooks Racer ST replacement? (Read 43 times)

ch17

It's Tuesday every day

HI all - I've been training in the Brooks Racer STs for about the last eight years. Brooks has stopped making them and I'm down to one last unused pair.

So: suggestions for (or experience with) replacements? I believe the Brooks Asteria is supposed to be the replacement model.

What I liked about the Racer ST was the lightness of the shoe combined with that little bit of medial support. I also like the adidas adizero adios for that same reason, but rarely do I see those at less than $140/pair, and right now I churn thru shoes fairly quickly.

Thanks! --Christine

I don't have any good advice, but will be interested to see the responses.

I have always raced in training shoes, and just started looking into something more geared to racing.

I generally wear Brooks, so started there. They have two support models, Asteria ($110) and Neuro ($120). Not sure which one is closer to the ST, but I liked the Neuro a bit better. However I ended up buying the Hyperion (I think basically replacement of T7), which is neutral and the lightest one they make at 6.4 oz ($130). They felt great for a very short tryout at the store, although much less of a shoe than I'm used to. So I'm concerned about longer distances; will have to see how it works out (thank you 90-day return policy).

Dave

SMART Approach