Competitive Jerks Racing and Training - 2023 (Read 573 times)

JMac11

RIP Milkman

I will give my update now as I wanted to wait out of respect for the racers this past weekend.

My injury problems have remained the same. I've effectively not run for 4 weeks at this point, and things have probably only improved 50%. I tried to get out the door yesterday when I was so inspired by Boston, but I made it half a mile before I had to shut it down. It's still Achilles issues, but also posterior tib stuff that is preventing me from even doing easy mileage.

I've been working with PT for a couple of months now and we just can't crack the code. She's been thinking it's my back, but that doesn't seem to be helping either. I'm inquiring on something like Shockwave to see if that will do it. I've done heel drops, core strengthening, PT manipulation, heat, ice, massage guns, ball work, etc. Pretty much everything you can think of. It's not helping.

Either way, I'm very close to just fully throwing in the towel and giving up for good. Frankly I was there last week and had committed to stopping for good, but Boston put a little fire in me that maybe I'll try to crack this nut one last time. In order to be in Moose Mug shape, I need to be running within the next few weeks to slowly get back to mileage I know I need to run to do it. I won't try to get back to 90+ like I did for NYC, but I do need to be running in the 71-85 range to have a shot.