Advice needed- half or full marathon??? (Read 479 times)

kelsalynn

***I posted this question on the AZ only forums but didn't get any responses so I thought I'd open it up to everyone. I'm looking for your advice!*** THANKS! I need some advice. I was planning on signing up for the PF Chang's HALF marathon in January. My longest run to date is 10 miles. Just last week I ran 6 miles one day and the week before I ran 5 miles (plus a bunch of two, three, or four milers). To be honest, considering that there's about 5 months left until the PF Chang's event, I'm really not worried about being ready to run the half marathon. I've never done it before, but I know I could, I just never put myself to an "official" test before. So it got me thinking, should I just sign up for the full and start training for that? I'm curious what you guys think. I read about people all the time who decide randomly one day to run a marathon and they've barely run before. Here I am, I run about 10-14 miles per week and there's 5 months to go and I'm thinking about doing the half? Seems like the "easy way out" maybe? LET'S HEAR YOUR THOUGHTS!!!

Right on Hereford...

Do the half.
        if it was me I'd do the full marathon... especially with 5 months to go. Cool Start building your base mileage slowly and safely over the next 4-6 (or however long it takes to slowly and SAFELY build your milage) weeks, to a minimum of 30 miles/week then kick off a beginners training plan. Why not run a half-marathon in November or early December if you can find one as part of your training? Interested in knowing what you decide!
        xor

...and I'm thinking about doing the half? Seems like the "easy way out" maybe?