Putting the wheels back on (Read 651 times)

Mr Inertia

Suspect Zero

After my second marathon this spring, the wheels totally fell off my training. My plan was to do a spring and a fall marathon this year. During spring training, I got a really nasty flu that set my training back quite a bit. I recovered the best I could and gallowalked my way to a 20 min PR. Then I started training for a fall marathon WAY too soon with nowhere near the recovery I needed. As part of my training, I raced a HM and it was the worst race I've ever run. I got to the point where running 2-3 times per week was a struggle. 4 mile runs were difficult. Occasionally I'd hit a decent workout, but that was always followed by a few days of difficulties. It was really tough. The worst part of it was I didn't even like running anymore. I stopped reading about it, stopped frequenting running sites. So I took a step back, took a full week off with no running and shelved my fall marathon. Then I ran medium and easy for a few weeks. Now I'm following Daniels' intermediate blue plan with some extra mileage on the weekend run. I feel fantastic. I love to run and I'm glad to be doing it. My general plan is to stick with this intermediate plan (again, with some extra mileage on the weekend) and race a HM later next month. It's a pretty hilly course so I have no PR illusions, but I'm starting to feel confident that I'll make a good showing. After running the intermediate plan for the balance of the year, I think I am going to enjoy the madness that is training for a spring marathon during the Ohio winter. So that's my story.
      I gotta be honest, I had log stocked you for awhile, and wondered if you were okay.... So glad that you ARE, and you are BACK. I had thought you sustained an injury, and were taking mandatory time off. Glad to know that you are on the road to loving the sport again. Take Care! and Post often.... Wink

Life Goal- Stay Cancer Free, Live my Best Life