The pool I use has a current in the outside lanes (Read 829 times)

spacityrunner

i have not encountred such a thing with an indoor pool (but then again i have not been swimming for very long) and just joined this club for the pool.  When I am in the outside lanes (it is a small, 4 lane pool) there is a distinct current...one way i feel like I am Michael Phelps, the reverse I feel like I am swimming uphill...so my question...

Should i use those lanes? or try for one of the 2 middle lanes where there is no current? 

I am new to swimming (only 2 years) and it takes me about 45-50 sec to do one lap in a 20m pool (40M)  I swim for cross training and don't mind the xtra workout going against the current gives me but I sure do get tired...then theres the swimming with tthe current which takes me no effort (but sure does feel nice).

Which lanes do i get the best swim workout in?  does anyone else swim in a pool with a current? 

Thanks for any feedback you can offer...

Trails Rock!

Giant Flaming Dork

the pool I swim in doesn't have a current with or against the flow of swimming, but it does have currents across the lane  If I'm on the outside lanes, I feel like I'm all over the lanes, alternately getting pushed away and sucked toward the wall as I go by the jets and inlets. 

Yours sounds like a great way to PR in the 25m free!

http://xkcd.com/621/

A Saucy Wench

I say if you can warm up in the middle and then move to the outside.    I think the hill analogy is good, and in running hills make you strong.   Sounds like rolling hills to me!  Work on form on the downstream, swim hard on the upstream

I have become Death, the destroyer of electronic gadgets

"When I got too tired to run anymore I just pretended I wasnt tired and kept running anyway" - dd, age 7