Sub-20 Goal for 5k (2012) (Read 5412 times)

I'm by no means an expert, but ... I like to:

• Run 1.5mi or so to warm up.
    • Change into racing shoes (if applicable).
    • Run another 0.75mi or so, with a nice chunk of it at tempo.
    • Change into race kit; shed jacket and whatnot.
    • Do some striders, finishing near the starting line.
    • Stand there, shake my legs pointlessly, think back on good workouts, and remind myself to find my pace.
    • If I see someone I know who may be running about what I'm looking to run, I may make a note of it and try to latch on.  Depends on how they pace early on v. how I do.

Seems to work better for me than loooong warmups, no warmup, or other stuff I've tried.  YMMV.

"I want you to pray as if everything depends on it, but I want you to prepare yourself as if everything depends on you."

-- Dick LeBeau

I'm by no means an expert, but ... I like to:

• Run 1.5mi or so to warm up.
      • Change into racing shoes (if applicable).
      • Run another 0.75mi or so, with a nice chunk of it at tempo.
      • Change into race kit; shed jacket and whatnot.
      • Do some striders, finishing near the starting line.
      • Stand there, shake my legs pointlessly, think back on good workouts, and remind myself to find my pace.
      • If I see someone I know who may be running about what I'm looking to run, I may make a note of it and try to latch on.  Depends on how they pace early on v. how I do.

Seems to work better for me than loooong warmups, no warmup, or other stuff I've tried.  YMMV.

Bang on... looks like the perfect warm up

Most important to shake the legs pointlessly - not sure what it does but everyone seems to do it so it must be right !!!

2015 Goals:

Sub 18 minute 5km

Sub 38 minute 10km

Break 1,000 miles for the year for the first time ever...

Stay healthy and keep focused

Most important to shake the legs pointlessly - not sure what it does but everyone seems to do it so it must be right !!!