I can run 500 Miles in one month! (Well...maybe...) (Read 2126 times)

TJoseph

I am a mathematician, but we do make mistakes.

When I was in high school pre-calculus I had a teacher that was mean spirited and not very popular.  I had gotten marked wrong on a question on an assignment.  I raised my hand and stated to the teacher that my Dad had reviewed the question with me and my answer was correct.  The teacher's snide response was "is your Dad a mathematician?".   It felt really good to respond to her that, yes, my Dad had a PhD in mathematics.  Unfortunately, my Dad had made a mistake and I had answered the question wrong so the high didn't last very long.

xor

Nice!

A Saucy Wench

Just so that you realize. 1 + 2 + ... + 31 = 31*32/2 = 496. So, you will have to throw in 4 more miles.

He's right it is actually 496....

I have become Death, the destroyer of electronic gadgets

"When I got too tired to run anymore I just pretended I wasnt tired and kept running anyway" - dd, age 7

Teresadfp

One day at a time

He's right it is actually 496....but ummmmm thats 6 more miles. 

No, he meant that Blaine needs to run 4 more miles to get to 500 for the month.

xor

He's right it is actually 496....but ummmmm thats 6 more miles. 

I think that he meant that if 496 is the total, 4 more will be needed to hit 500.

Anyway, I got to 215 by 1/15. I can't imagine hitting 250 by 1/15 much less 500 by the end of the month. I suppose I could get to 430 by 1/30 and then run a 70 miler.  No.

Go Blaine, go!

A Saucy Wench

yeah I figured that out as soon as I walked away.

I have become Death, the destroyer of electronic gadgets

"When I got too tired to run anymore I just pretended I wasnt tired and kept running anyway" - dd, age 7

I think that he meant that if 496 is the total, 4 more will be needed to hit 500.