Couch to 5K training (Read 850 times)

Kimmie

Hey there- For awhile now, I've turned new runners on to this plan and I have had people ask me to help them run their first 5K. I love doing this and I'm thinking of making it a little more formal and actually starting a group in my neighborhood maybe two mornings a week and the other morning would be on their own. I'm a personal trainer, and as much as I'd like to do this for free, I actually think that if I charged something for the 9 weeks of training, then maybe people would have more buy in. What is your opinion on how much is a reasonable amount to charge? I'm going to do the walk/run with them two mornings a week. Plus, give them the third workout (I may even do this one too. I haven't figured out all of the details) I don't want to charge too much. What would you be willing to pay? Any other advice on how to go about forming a group like this? A little about me: I'm not fast, but I have been running for about 10 years: done 5Ks up to marathons (5) all in the 4 hour range. I feel like I know enough about running to help a beginner and that's what I really want to do. Smile

SMART Approach

Kimmie, I have done these types of things in the past. I do think it depends on area of country. Green Bay would probably charge less than LA. I think a reasonable fee would be $79 - $99 a person. It is certainly worth more than this but you do want people involved. Certainly, a person would be willing to pay $4-5 a work out. You can market it hyping your credentials and comparing this price to what you charge for an hour of personal training. It is all about marketing and appealing to emotions and goals of potential client.

Run Coach. Recovery Coach. Founder of SMART Approach Training, Coaching & Recovery

Structured Marathon Adaptive Recovery Training

Safe Muscle Activation Recovery Technique

www.smartapproachtraining.com

Kimmie