Sub 1:30 Half Marathon in 2019 (Read 641 times)

Marky_Mark_17

JMac - excellent that you were still able to get that long run done with taping.  I'm no expert on taping but it's certainly helped minor niggles for me in the past, nothing nearly as serious as yours though.  I think mixing up the shoe drop is probably a good idea and hopefully that will prevent recurrence.

Flavio - I sold my race entry to my coach as either her or another of her athletes were going to run (someone else is "Marky Mark" out there today!).  I'm kinda sad about it, as I've run that race every year since I started running, also conditions were perfect out there today, but it was still the smart thing to do even though I'm feeling a lot better now.  They had the strongest elite mens field for the half in years and there was only 2 seconds between 1st and 2nd.  The womens field was pretty shallow though.

Also, no beer?!?!?! OH NO!!

Me - somehow still managed to get 80km on the board this week despite it being all easy running.  I was definitely not feeling up to any efforts during the week, but I was feeling a lot better by the time the weekend rolled around.  WIll be done with antibiotics on Monday and feeling almost back to normal.  Back into it this week and I'm optimistic things will be back on track for Kerikeri in 5 weeks time.

3,000m: 9:07.7 (Nov-21) | 5,000m: 15:39 (Dec-19) | 10,000m: 32:34 (Mar-20)  

10km: 33:15 (Sep-19) | HM: 1:09:41 (May-21)* | FM: 2:41:41 (Oct-20)

* Net downhill course

Last race: Waterfront HM, 7 Apr, 1:15:48

Up next: Runway5, 4 May

"CONSISTENCY IS KING"

JMac11

RIP Milkman

Flavio - I didn’t comment on this earlier, but really sorry to hear about your food issues. That is quite an extensive list. The lack of beer is hard enough, but I think the thing that would hurt me the most is garlic. It’s in basically everything I love, especially cooked vegetables. Are you working with a good nutritionist to get to the bottom of it?