Deep quad pain - any ideas? (Read 759 times)

Mishka-old log

I have an injury that has been coming on for just under a month. I've been running since 1992 and have never had this issue and have no idea what it might be. The pain is primarily very deep in my quad, but has changed since it first came on. When I first felt it, I was also dealing with patellar tendinitis in the same leg. I started wearing an "Ace" knee strap for the knee and it resolved itself within 3 weeks. However, the pain in the quad has gotten worse. When I first felt it, it seemed to be located right in the middle of my inside thigh and it was so deep that it seemed like the pain was within the bone. However, the pain moved to the top of my femur to the point where it joins the hip. When the pain was at these locations, only the impact of running caused it to hurt. However, the pain has since moved back downward again, and feels like more of a muscular or soft-tissue pain. The pain is physically located on the inside of my upper leg and extends from just below the mid-point to just above the mid-point of my upper leg. It is still not at the surface, but no longer feels as deep as the bone. In addition, I can induce pain by internally rotating my entire leg. The only other time I can induce pain (other than the impact of running or rotatiing the leg) is by sitting on a chair and letting my weight push the chair into an area just above the mid point of my hamstring. Any ideas what I may be dealing with?
    Trent

Good Bad & The Monkey

I worry about your hip joint or your high femur, pain from which can radiate to your midthigh. You need to get this checked out. It could just be hamstring, but it may not be.
      Mishka-old log