Is there such a thing as luck? (Read 1016 times)

zoom-zoom

rectumdamnnearkilledem

(disclaimer - I am an engineer)

Lottery tickets, many people who buy them have a 0% success rate. Those who win are well beyond the statistical overall success rate.

As my engineer hubby likes to say (and I think Globule has said the same), "Lottery tickets are a tax on people who are bad at Math."

Getting the wind knocked out of you is the only way to

remind your lungs how much they like the taste of air.    

~ Sarah Kay

I say the same thing. My view is that the government lotto corporation as a whole is a 'tax on bad math', which is my stock phrase.

runnerclay

Consistently Slow

I say the same thing. My view is that the government lotto corporation as a whole is a 'tax on bad math', which is my stock phrase.

What is more damaging to society? A coke  or a lottery ticket. Confused

Run until the trail runs out.

SCHEDULE 2016--

The pain that hurts the worse is the imagined pain. One of the most difficult arts of racing is learning to ignore the imagined pain and just live with the present pain (which is always bearable.) - Jeff

unsolicited chatter

http://bkclay.blogspot.com/

LedLincoln

not bad for mile 25

As my engineer hubby likes to say (and I think Globule has said the same), "Lottery tickets are a tax on people who are bad at Math."

And I thought I was the originator of that statement.

zoom-zoom

rectumdamnnearkilledem

Ha, I always thought my dad was the originator of "if it was up your ass, you'd know!" (when asked where any missing item could be found)...until my BFF's dad, residing in an entirely different state from my dad, uttered the same phrase.  I was both shocked and appalled (appalled that anyone could be as big a dork as my dad). Tongue

Getting the wind knocked out of you is the only way to

remind your lungs how much they like the taste of air.    

~ Sarah Kay

I'm pretty sure it's such an obvious truth that it's been independently duplicated.