How much is too much? (Read 762 times)

Tuna

Hi There, So I'm new to the whole running world. I never enjoyed it growing up and never understood the whole "run for fun" thing. With the new year, I've made a serious commitment to my health and get into better shape, primarily to rock climb better (when my shoulder heals) and to feel better all around. Just a little bit of history - I'm not completely out of shape...I've always been active with skiing, rock climbing and what ever my latest obsession is. I am overweight - tipping the scales at 228 at 6'2" (I was 240 on January 1st Big grin). I do have a large frame and some muscles hiding under all the flub. I also have a torn left labrum and am missing my MCL in my right knee. So, back to the topic, how much is too much? I started training with guns a blazing, but after two weeks I started getting pain / soreness behind my right knee (not related to the MCL - I think) and where my groin and lower abdomen meet up. I layoff and started improvising with the C25K and by the end of last week, I was able to do 3 miles in 35 minutes with a 5k walking warm up and walking intervals. This morning, I went 3.4 miles in 37 minutes and started to get the same groin / lower ab tweakage. I was hoping to rock out 15-20 miles this week...am I pushing too hard? Also, how the hell do you stay on the treadmill for a consistent pace for an hour without losing your mind? I like the intervals since it keeps you focused on your task at hand but man...where does your mind go if your at a pace and cranking down the distance? I've started to enjoy this whole thing and do not want to stop. Any thoughts, ideas, tips, tricks? Much appreciated!
    Tuna

Oh, one last thing - I feel great! I feel better about everything. I'm less negative, happier, deal with stress more effectively, am more svelte and just enjoying life more.

Runs with ALTITUDE!