Hi From a Newbie Runner (Read 96 times)

k8oliveplants

Hi everyone,

I am a 52-year-old newbie runner, training for my first-ever 5K on October 20th, only 3 1/2 weeks away. First, a little background....I was diagnosed with several autoimmune diseases 10 years ago and tried every conventional med (including oral chemo) available, but nothing helped. So, after alot of research and prayer, I switched to a low-fat raw vegan diet. And immediately my symptoms began to slowly disappear. Plus, I have tons of energy, so I began working out because I finally felt like moving! I do aerobics, weight training, and walking. Ever since being the last one to finish the required PE runs in school, I have always hated running...until recently. I have so much energy since I changed my diet and I just wanted more of a challenge.  Then I saw an ad for the local 5K next month and decided to give it a try. I have been training for 4 weeks so far, and I have come to absolutely love running!

Yesterday for the first time, I ran on a nearby road. (I usually run in the hay field in front of our house.) On the road,  I ran 3 miles in 34 minutes. The first 1 1/2 miles took me 14 minutes. The 2nd half was much slower: 20 minutes. I really didn't care about the time; I was just thankful to have run at all. Today was hot and humid, but I ran anyway. My time was slower: each mile and a half took 18 minutes! The road I am running on is flat and also has rolling hills. It seems as if I run much faster in the hay field, which has steeper hills than the road.

So my question is...what is a reasonable time for a 52-year-old to run 5K? I realize that there are many variables, including weight, etc... but is there an average time I can use as a goal? I want to run well, and not be so concerned with the time, but I also want something to work for.  Also, how many times per week should I run? Every day? Every other day?

Thanks.

Hi Newbie,