Will running help my hiking? (Read 381 times)

sport jester

Biomimeticist

Since most trail running is done on your toes, is why I studied ostriches in the first place. Since they're natural toe runners I wanted to contrast their running techniques to figure out what I can learn from them.

In fact one of my favorite students took second place in her age group for a trail 5K race without even trying. Her goal was simply to finish the race without injury given ankle stability issues were the worry. She didn't even realize how well she had done until afterwards.

Experts said the world is flat

Experts said that man would never fly

Experts said we'd never go to the moon

Name me one of those "experts"...

History never remembers the name of experts; just the innovators who had the guts to challenge and prove the "experts" wrong

xhristopher

In fact one of my favorite students took second place in her age group for a trail 5K race without even trying. Her goal was simply to finish the race without injury given ankle stability issues were the worry. She didn't even realize how well she had done until afterwards.

She must be from Nantucket.

sport jester

Biomimeticist

She was from Russia.

And she did most of her training on the stairmaster, not the treadmill.

History never remembers the name of experts; just the innovators who had the guts to challenge and prove the "experts" wrong

That is incredible.  Is DK one of your students too?

sport jester

Biomimeticist

Don't know who DK is.....

Don't know who DK is.....

Uh, Donna Karan? Hello.

"If you have the fire, run..." -John Climacus

sport jester

Biomimeticist

That is incredible.  Is DK one of your students too?

no,

Most of my respect comes from tactical (military, law enforcement, firefighting) athletes up to and including Navy SEALs.

no,

Most of my respect comes from tactical (military, law enforcement, firefighting) athletes up to and including Navy SEALs.