Six Week 13.1 Training Plan (Read 83 times)

megankip

Hi!

I signed up for a half marathon that's six weeks away.

I've been running off and on for about 10 years now (1 full in 2012 at 4:40 with training, 4 halves from 2013-2016 with times from 2:05 with some training, to 2:35 with absolutely no training).  I've never had a problem jumping back in after taking a break from running, so I'm not worried about not being able to finish.

I didn't run much this summer and in the last two months I've been in school, but I try and squeeze in 2-3 miles when I can.  That usually ends up being about 2-3 times a week.

I was just wondering if anyone had any advice on how to make the most of the next six weeks, given limited time to run.  My thoughts were maybe a day of intervals for about 30 min, a day of an easy 3 miles, and a day of a little longer (maybe 6-10).  Then throw some strength training in.

I know this won't be a big PR race or anything, I'm just looking to maximize the next few weeks Smile Thank you!

tom1961

Old , Ugly and slow

6 weeks is not a long time.

I assume you are young.

I would ease in to the intervals and long run

Good  luck.

first race sept 1977 last race sept 2007

2019  goals   1000  miles  , 190 pounds , deadlift 400 touch my toes

an amazing likeness

Endurance first.

At "...2-3 miles, 2-3 times a week...", that's 4-9mi per week = you are running a very light schedule.

So adding easy miles will have the most benefit.

Screw the speed work, that's not the workout you want at this point.

Yes to 6-10 milers, and push every other run longer as well.

Acceptable at a dance, invaluable in a shipwreck.

ilanarama

Pace Prophet