Plantar fasciitis (Read 2599 times)

jwowen218

Looking for some positive stories (to help boost my confidence and keep me from freaking out!) regarding plantar faciitis and running. I ran a half marathon a few days ago (Sunday). I had zero foot-related pain immediately there after. I took a complete rest day the day after (with the exception of a lesiurely 2 mile walk). Then on Tuesday (two days later), I walked a mile to the gym and ran an average paced (not really fast) 2 miles on the treadmill. The arch of my foot started killing mid-way thru the run. I was an complete idiot and did not stop running. Foolish me. Thought, "what's two miles? I can push thru this". Now I have text-book plantar fasciitis (PF?) symptoms (I've had it before, years ago, confirmed by a podiatrist). I'm a teacher, and it hurts to even get through the day on my feet.

I am taking time off from running and trying stretching and icing. However, I refuse to stop cross-training. There is no way I am going to let myself get out of shape and have to start from scratch all over again. If you've successfully cured PF,whilst still cross-training, please do share your story! Also, any other tips for PF would be greatly appreciated

Feeling the growl again

This may not be exactly what you wanted to hear but....

After virtually zero physical injuries duing an almost 20 year running career, PF popped out of nowhere with me when I ran a 90 mile week in December (not unknown territory to me at all).  I suffered through it, often unable to stand on my heel for 20-30min in the morning until it loosened out some.  By mid-January it got to the point I could not tolerate running on it due to the pain and I took about 5 days off.  I quickly resumed 90 mile weeks and ran a few more before mono sidelined my high volume training.  The PF was not gone by any means, but it was at a level I could tolerate it and run.