Suggestions please on increasing to 20 miles or more per week... (Read 222 times)

mk885

Hi

I am looking for suggestions on increasing mileage to 20 miles or more per week.

I currently run 3x a week with 2 shorter runs (3.5 to 4.5) during the week and slightly longer run on weekend (7 to 9)

I have been averaging between 12 to 15 miles per week for a few months.

I like having flexibility, if possible, of taking additional rest day if required due to commitments that limit available time during work week.

What are thoughts on increasing runs during week vs longer run on weekend or alternative approach to increasing mileage?

Thanks for help...

It's difficult to improve when running only three days per week.  Also, your long run is about half your weekly mileage.  That's too many miles at one time for your base mileage.

I recommend adding one more short run of about 4 miles now, and then another similar run.  Then you will be getting enough base miles to get proper benefit from your 7 to 9 mile long run.  Definitely do not make your long run longer at this time.

CanadianMeg

#RunEveryDay

I think JR answer was right. Adding a fourth day is going to be more benefit to you than stretching that long run. Do you have an end goal in mind? What is special to you about the 20 mile weekly total?

Half Fanatic #9292. 

Game Admin for RA Running Game 2023.

Half Crazy K 2.0

I've done it as 6-7-7. When I did that it was not ideal, but I wanted to get to 20. A lot depends on how much time you have available.

On 4 days, 20 miles is 4 5 mile runs.

SMART Approach

3-4, 5-6, 3-4, 7-9. You definitely need 4 days per week. What are your goals?  Put a couple more miles in a mid week run and if you want to do some tempo miles, do them in middle of that mid week run.

Run Coach. Recovery Coach. Founder of SMART Approach Training, Coaching & Recovery

Structured Marathon Adaptive Recovery Training

Safe Muscle Activation Recovery Technique

www.smartapproachtraining.com