I'm running a half in 6 days - questions about pace, cambelbaks, and spitting! (Read 621 times)

This Sunday I'm running my first half marathon. I've only run one other race, a 5k last December. I started running last October, and lately I feel like I've been making really good progress in my conditioning. Given that my conditioning is a moving target, and moving in the right direction thankfully, the problemI'm having is I'm not sure what a reasonable pace is for me to strive for in the race (which is in 6 days). I ran the 5k at an 8:37 pace, but I've been training for 3 months since then and I'm in much better condition now. Today I ran 4 miles at an 8:14 pace - I felt great, and felt as if I could've kept if up for 13 miles (although I may be fooling myself there!). Anyway, I used a race predictor on the web which showed that, based on my having run 4 miles at an 8:14 pace, then I should be able to finish the half in about 1:55. But , since I could definitely have run those 4 miles faster, does this mean I should shoot for a pace even faster than a 1:55 half-marathon? Given all this info, any suggestions for a strategy? I think I'll try to run conservatively the first few miles at a 9:10 pace or so, which would be a 2 hr half, which was my original goal when I started training for this 3 months ago. Then if I feel good after 3 or 4 miles, I can speed up a bit - kind of like a tempo run. Does this sound reasonable? I definitely don't want to start too fast and then end up really dragging towards the end. Two other much shorter questions: I always train with a camelbak (0.8 liters) for my long runs. Should I run the race with it? Since this is my first race, I was thinking I would run with it, use it for water during the early and late parts of the race, but practice using the water stops during the middle of the race to get a feel for how that works. And then maybe next race I'll leave the camelbak at home. Or should I just leave it home this time too? Finally, he