New to running - Training Plan - Goals - Questions (Read 111 times)

slonny

Hi, everyone,

I am very new to running and to this forum. I need some advice on building a solid base for future runs. My someday goal is to eventually run a 50 mile ultra.

Before this I used to strength train (Squats, Deadlifts, Shoulder Press, Bench Press) and run 1 time per week for about 20 minutes. Over the past few weeks I have increased my runs to about 14 miles per week.

I have been using heart rate training and focusing mainly on Zone 2 for now. I have seen significant improvements from my first run on 08/18/20, when my average pace in Zone 2 was 13:34 min/mi.

My last long run on 09/03/20 was 6.15 miles in Zone 2. Total time was 65 minutes. Average pace was 10:34 min/mi.

I have come up with a simple plan after reading a little bit about planning and running.

https://s945.photobucket.com/user/okurilen/media/Untitled-1.jpg.html

Goal: Build a solid base.

MPW: 25-30 mpw

Plan:

- short runs (Zone 1): 3 mi

- medium runs (Zone 2): 5 - 10 mi

- long runs (Zone 2): 60 - 180 min

Long Runs:

- Add 5 minutes to long runs every week. This is approximately 1 mile every 2 weeks.

Medium Runs:

- Increase by 1 mile every 5 weeks.

Deload Weeks:

- Take a deload week (15 - 25% less) every 4 weeks.

Any advice from experienced runners would be greatly appreciated. Am I going too slow? Is the mileage build up adequate for a novice runner? Would this plan provide a solid foundation for me when I start a training plan for a 50 mi ultra?

I not big on hydration and nutrition during the run. Currently, I do not drink any water during my runs, but drink plenty afterwards. As my longer runs increase I will need to hydrate myself properly. There is plenty information on this, and I am sure a simple water bottle will do for now.