Half Marathon Training - Alternative to Running ?s Newbie help (Read 63 times)

the08er

I am just getting into running. Most of my running is for fun, but I realized having a race goal was helpful motivation. I have done a 10k and have decided to do a half marathon in April. Yes, I plan early. I currently run 10-15 miles a week and have started a general training program. I plan to start a race specific plan closer to the race. My problem is that the week and a half before the race I will not be able to run at all due to traveling (including no access to a treadmill or gym). I will have space for cross training in a small spare bedroom of the folks I will be staying with. I am still new to this, so please forgive me if these are dumb questions. And let me know if there are any specifics that will help with answering.

How should I modify my training before I go while I can still run?
    Given that I cannot do the last week and a half of training, should I start training that much earlier?
    What cross training exercises would be best to do when I cannot run? How long should those sets be?

<iframe width="100%" height="100%" frameborder="0" marginwidth="0" marginheight="0" scrolling="no"></iframe>

would be the best to do when I cannot run?

Can you explain why your situation during this time prevents you from running? I can’t really imagine a scenario, but maybe I am not being creative enough.

If for whatever reason there is no possibility of running, I don’t think it’s a good idea before your first half marathon. If you had to do it, I’d just do the training plan as intended, and the 1.5 weeks of no running would be in place of the taper. You could still do the race but it would likely not be a very good experience. I think it’s a much better idea to pick a different race where you would not have this limitation.

Dave

CanadianMeg

#RunEveryDay