Looking for Feedback - Pfitzinger Plan for HM (Read 74 times)

BCarv

The Running Dead

All - Looking for feedback.  I'm 53 and I've been running for ~ 8 years.  I had been working with a local coach who kept my weekly mileage on the low side to deal with some nagging injury issues but left me feeling under-trained and low on endurance late in HM 's and marathons.  I decided to take a new approach in 2020 and used a Pfitzinger HM plan that had weekly mileage peaking in the 60's.

TL/DR - The higher mileage helped with endurance (I PR'd by ~ 1 min), but I struggled with the intensity of the quality work-outs and felt flat late in the plan.  And I had no kick the last mile of the HM.  Do I stick  with Pfitz for a marathon in the fall or are there other plans that I should consider?  Any advice on executing the LT and VO2max work-outs better?

The rest of the story:

Though my spring goal race was canceled, I ran a HM time trial yesterday  The good news.  My endurance definitely improved.  I hit a PR and went sub 1:34 (in a time trial!).  The weather was good (low 40's, low wind, cloudy) and I executed my race plan and ran a consistent effort throughout.  Throughout the 12 week plan, I was able to get in the runs and hit the mileage (my last 4 months have all been above 200 miles; before that, I don't think I had any).  Though the load seemed really heavy at the beginning (as my daily 6 mile runs became 9-12 mile runs), I felt like I settled into the work load and no real injury issues cropped up.