Running in "minimalist" shoes (Read 512 times)

No more marathons

My shoe of choice is Brooks green silence.  It has a heel drop of 8mm, which is less than Brooks adrenaline gts (12.3mm) which I used to run in.  I didn't pick this shoe because of that, but because of the lightness, and that it still gives me 400 or so miles of use.  I tried a pair of pure connect (4mm) but only got about 200 miles before they were shot.

Boston 2014 - a 33 year journey

Lordy,  I hope there are tapes. 

He's a leaker!

Mmmmm...beer

Read the book and liked it, but I wasn't running 5 years ago, or even 1 year ago, so I don't have much of a basis for comparison.  But I have found that I like neutral shoes with less drop.  Currently running in Kinvaras and Cortanas, and looking to get some lighter shoes for racing.

-Dave

My running blog

Goals | sub-18 5k | sub-3 marathon 2:56:46!!

jfa

I would have checked all of the buttons ,if allowed.  I have been running in Free's for at least 4 years. Nothing else. Injury free and only $85 per pair. And oh yea, they don't wear out.

kcam

I believe in changing up shoes regularly.  I think that running in a specific shoe for a long period of time will cause weaknesses in whatever areas are supported.  To me, it's better to switch up shoes regularly.  That said, I race in the lightest shoe I can get away with.  Currently, that's the Mizuno Universe at 3.8oz.

The Wave Universe is my shoe of choice for any road or track race under 10K.  Past that I'm still using an old pair of ASICS Gel Tarthers, really need to find something else as that pair has over 500 race miles on them.  I think NB has a new shoe called the 5000 that weighs even less than the Mizuno Wave Universe (3.2 ounces for the 5000).  Cost is a factor for me as I recall buying my Universe shoes for about $50.  I'll wait for those 5000's to go on sale in a year or so to try them.

LedLincoln

not bad for mile 25