Does the hunger stop? (Read 894 times)

A Saucy Wench

So last year when I got to 40mpw the runner hunger kicked in high gear. Where you are hungry even when your stomach is full. My running p calls it "hunger at the cellular level". Last year I was eating whatever I wanted and ate enough to gain a little, this year I am trying not to do that, especially since i plan on hanging around this mileage for most of the year. Does that "I could eat everything in the pantry and then go out for dinner" feeling go away eventually if I stick here for long enough? ....off to find sockoni so I can drool over her latest avatar.... mta: oooops

I have become Death, the destroyer of electronic gadgets

"When I got too tired to run anymore I just pretended I wasnt tired and kept running anyway" - dd, age 7

I totally know what you're talking about. I've been running for about 3 years now, only really "seriously" (a relative term I know) in the last 1.5. For the first 2 years I was hungry all the time much like you've described. Those crazy cravings have subsided in the last 8 months or so after sticking to higher milage weeks... now I've lost weight rapidly! So yes... in my short running career the eat-everything tendenacies disappear!
      Mr Inertia

Suspect Zero

I've only been running for two years and am just now making my way into 40MPW territory for the second time. That's right about when it happens for me, too. So far it hasn't gone away. I just try and make sure I eat theright things - tons of veg, fruit and carbs. Although mileage like that does allow for a little indulgence. It's become a bit of a joke at work - hide your food, Mr Inertia's coming! I can't imagine what my intake is going to look like when I hit 60+ MPW.

The Greatest of All Time