Running with Plantar Faciitis (Read 347 times)

I am pretty certain I have a mild case of PF (self diagnosis supported by several runners who have had it and my sister the PT).  I have been trying to massage/roll it out at night and it really only bothers me for the first few steps in the morning.  I have taken a couple weeks off from running since I first noticed it (plus a calf strain in the other leg).  The PF only bothers me for the first couple minutes in the morning and now that the other leg feels good, I want to get back to running.  So, I am coming with two questions:

1 - Is this a good idea and any advice for running with PF?

2 - Will this go away on it's own or do I have to get one of those sock/braces for my foot at night?

Any advice is appreciated.

Thanks - Matt

I think most runners will at some point have a mild case of PF/Achilles tendonitis.  I've been running with this for a few years now without it getting any worse.  I do some of the exercises like eccentric heel drops and stretching the calf and that seems to keep this from getting any worse.

mikeymike

I'm 1 year into a bout of PF that has wavered between severe/debilitating and just annoying.

In my experience, taking time off running appears to be the worst thing I can do. Stretching my calves, rolling my calves with a foam roller, and rolling my feet with a lacrosse ball help as long as I'm consistent with it. Wearing beefier/more slightly posted shoes has helped. Avoiding dress shoes also helps, as does being barefoot as much as possible. The only thing I haven't tried that I think would help is sleeping in a strassburg sock (which I still may try). Very often I wind up sleeping on my stomach with my left foot (the one with the PF) hanging off the  bed so that my ankle can rest at a 90 degree angle.