keeping mind occupied (Read 843 times)

sous

I am new to running and really like it. I am having a hard time keeping my focus after the second mile, it is like i hit this point that is really hard to work through and i have to really fight to not stop running. It is not that i am in pain or cant breathe, i am pretty sure it is totally mental. The problem is i dont know how to push through and i am running my first 10k in less than a month. It has got me totally worried, so if anyone can relate, Help Please!!

Supa Dupa Fly

I know that some people object to running with an ipod...but i find that listening to music sometimes helps me to keep my mind busy so i think less about being tired/quitting/etc. And faster paced music helps keep me in a rhythm.
      ~TC --There are 10 kinds of people in the world: those who understand binary and those who don't--

The Greatest of All Time

I usually do not focus on running unless I am racing. During training runs I just let my mind wander. I do most of my creative thinking when I am running. It's easier for me to ignore pain by not thinking about what I am doing. Music is nice too.
        all you touch and all you see, is all your life will ever be

Obesity is a disease. Yes, a disease where nothing tastes bad...except salads.
          You might want to try some psychoactive drugs for your next outing. Big grin Perhaps going out soused is your problem. Wink I find a radio and mp3 player are nice, but sometimes I do enjoy running without them.

Vim

C-R

I just stopped using my ipod and found I really enjoy my runs more. Like Marcus, I think through things important in my life, but I also love to people and scenery watch. Lots of things I was missing on my lunch course that I now notice. Whatever you try it should complement your runs to make them more fun. Good luck

"He conquers who endures" - Persius