McMillan vs. Yasso 800's (Read 4007 times)

I think I have a pretty good understanding of the purpose of these tools for runners, and just as important the limitations to their use. McMillan - Use recent race time to provide training paces but also suggest equivalent times for other distances. Yasso 800's - A Marathon pace prediction workout.10 - 800M in 4:00 (mins/sec), with 4:00 rest in between would suggest a 4:00 (hr/min) marathon. 3 min45sec 800's would suggest 3hr45min marathon,,, and so on. I know these are all just guidelines and the caveat is that you have done the appropriate training for the distance you are running. But to me the numbers don't make sense. I've been running for 20 years and will be doing my first 26.2 this spring. My goal is 4:00 (yea I know, my goal should to just finish). In any event, I enjoy the track and want to have some fun and have read about Yasso's for years. McMillan tells me that a 4 hr marathoner should be able to run 5 miles at 8:07 pace. (which, by the way I know I can do). So, how can running 5 miles worth of 800's at a 4 minute pace, and a 4 minute rest in between be anything but easy? In my situation, I don't think a Yasso workout would provide much confidence in pacing at all. Do you think Yasso is out of wack? Do you thik McMillan's equavalent paces for distances so diverse as 5 miles and marathon are equally suspect. Comments appreciated. Thanks
    Trent

Good Bad & The Monkey

These tend to be optimistic. In other words, for most folks, McMillan and Yasso will predict marathon times that are faster than you can achieve. So a 4 minute 800 may actually equate a 4:20 marathon unless you have a really high base and innate ability. Likewise, a 1:53 HM OR A 24:37 5K may predict a 4:00 marathon by McMillan, but it rarely works out that well and a 1:53 HM usually leads to a 4:10-4:30 marathon.
      Scout7