Buy New or From Craigslist - Treadmill (Read 158 times)

BarneyBunch

Hello!

I'm new to this forum and looking for some advice from fellow treadmill runners. I've been looking to get a treadmill for my apartment. I'm a recent college graduate so money is still pretty tight. I've been looking around and trying to find a good price on treadmills. I've found these websites (http://www.nordictrackcoupon.com/ & http://www.proformcoupon.com/) that give small discounts on brand new treadmills. I'm also looking on craigslist for any steals, but all I'm finding is slightly old treadmills that have seen better days.

Would it be worth it to spend a little more money and buy a brand new treadmill with a coupon? Should I go for the cheaper, lower quality treadmills from craigslist? Is it worth it to search for another city where craigslist might have better options?

I want something that will last, but also something that won't be too much of a hassle and break the bank. To those who have treadmills in their homes, does a quality treadmill make a difference? Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Teresadfp

One day at a time

We got a treadmill from nordictrack years ago and are very happy we did. We have always paid extra for a maintenance contract.  Whenever we have any problem at all, a technician comes out and fixes it or just tweaks it if it's running  a little rough.  One time, our kid (middle child...) managed to smash the display.  ???  It was still usable but some of the functions didn't work.  When the technician came out for another reason, we told him what had happened and he said, "Oh, I'll get you another display at no cost."  I think most of the unit has been rebuilt!  The guy said he has never seen a treadmill with as many miles on it as ours.  So I'm glad we bought a good one.  I would be hesitant to buy a used one.

an amazing likeness

Acceptable at a dance, invaluable in a shipwreck.

paul2432