Help needed: Am I injured or sick? (Read 75 times)

rtrafford81

Hi everyone;

First post for me on here so nice to meet you all and if anyone could help that would be great.

I'm an amateur runner who has ran 7 marathons. My 8th is due in a few weeks in Berlin (a course I am familiar with).

Training was going worse than normal, I'm not a very high mileage guy (peak 65km a week) and when not training for anything around half of that.

This training block for Berlin began around 2 months ago and is normally split between the treamdmill and outside.

A few months ago running 14km within the hour was perfectly doable but now I am actually struggling to run for an hour or less.

I am running in Nike Pegasus 35 and the issues are as follows: general tiredness, pains in my feet, ankle, backs of calves and knees and I am lacking any power or push from my upper legs. Mentally (usually a strong point for me) it's affecting my confidence when running and Berlin seems almost an impossible race for right now with it being a month away. My last marathon was Boston in April and I was fine then.

Nothing else has really changed. bar me being a year older (37).

Do I need blood tests or physio? Thing have hit a bad point today as I was meant to run outside for around 30km but knew I was struggling less than 5km in. I ended up stopping and getting the train home (which I have never done before).

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

BR;

JMac11

RIP Milkman

Always hard to tell when you’re in the middle of marathon training. Most of my runs feel like garbage this time of year given the heat and being deep into training, which can make you lose your confidence. However, as you stated, you’re not running very high mileage and you’ve been doing this before.

I would say take a few days off. If you come back and do an easy run of let’s say 10K and it still feels horrible, you may want to go get tested. But this could just be your body telling you that you need a break.